Grammarly vs Bookfairy: from spell check to a full edit
The same task for all three: a finished non-fiction manuscript that needs editing before it is published.
Short answer
Grammarly and ProWritingAid suggest fixes while you write. Bookfairy returns the whole manuscript edited, with every change explained.
- Checked for sense and factsLogic, facts and sources, plus a final proofread.
- Fixed price by word countFrom $46.80.
- Same account for the restCover, typesetting and EPUB for the same book follow there.
Editing a finished manuscript compared
Compared task: edit a finished non-fiction manuscript before publishing.
| Feature | Grammarly Pro | ProWritingAid Premium | |
|---|---|---|---|
| What you get back | Your whole manuscript edited, every change marked with the reason in the margin | Suggestions while you write: spelling, grammar, tone and sentence rewrites1 | Reports and suggestions on grammar, style and line editing that you work through2 |
| Sense and logic of the book | Checked across the manuscript: contradictions, jumps in the argument, steps that don't follow | Not stated on the plans page1 | One Chapter Critique a day; deeper manuscript feedback with paid Story Credits2 |
| Cover, typesetting and EPUB for the same book | In the same account, each paid per book: full cover with spine, plus barcode and publisher logo on the back, print PDF, EPUB | Not stated on the plans page1 | Not stated on the pricing page2 |
As of 8 November 2026, from the providers' websites (US prices in USD).
Grammarly, ProWritingAid, LanguageTool and Reedsy are trademarks of their respective owners. Bookfairy is not affiliated with them.
Writing assistant or edit
What Bookfairy checks
- Spelling and grammar
- Style
- Sense and logic across the whole book
- Facts and sources
- A final proofread on top
- You accept or reject each change and download the result
What you pay
- Up to 30,000 words: $46.80390 tokens
- Up to 60,000 words: $82.80690 tokens
- Up to 100,000 words: $118.80990 tokens
- Paid once per manuscript, first 3,000 words edited free
What comes next, in the same account
- Print cover with front, spine and back, with the barcode and publisher logo on the back
- Cover translate, resize or rework later as single jobs
- Typeset print PDF for KDP and IngramSpark
- EPUB for the ebook
- All prices on the price list
Frequently asked
Can Bookfairy do more than a spell check on my book?
Yes. Writing assistants help while you write; Bookfairy edits the finished manuscript as a whole, including sense, logic, facts and a final proofread.
How do you pay for one book at Bookfairy?
Bookfairy charges once per manuscript by word count, with no subscription that keeps running: from $46.80 up to 30,000 words. In the US, Grammarly Pro costs $12 a month on the yearly plan ($144) or $30 on the monthly plan.
Is the final proofread included at Bookfairy?
Yes. A last pass reads everything once more after the edit, at no extra cost.
Can I see a sample of Bookfairy editing first?
Yes. The first 3,000 words come back edited free, with every change marked and explained.
Sources (4)
- Grammarly Support, Pricing: plans in US dollars, the default currency (checked 8 Nov 2026). support.grammarly.com/hc/en-us/articles/115000090011
- ProWritingAid, Pricing, US view in USD (archived copy of 5 Oct 2026, checked 8 Nov 2026). prowritingaid.com/pricing
- LanguageTool, Premium: prices in euro as shown on the provider's site (accessed 7 Nov 2026). languagetool.org/premium
- Reedsy, How much does it cost to self-publish a book (average costs for an 80,000-word book, accessed 7 Nov 2026). reedsy.com/blog/cost-to-self-publish-a-book/