Guides

Self-Publishing Software 2027: The Tools for Every Step, with Prices

Self-publishing software step by step: writing, editing, cover, formatting, EPUB, keywords. Scrivener, Vellum, Atticus, Canva, Kindle Create and Bookfairy.

Short answer

Self-publishing a book takes software for six steps: writing, editing, cover, formatting, EPUB and store details such as keywords.

  • Bookfairy covers all six steps in one browser account and charges once per book, starting at $18 for a print PDF.
  • Most other tools cover one or two of them, for example Vellum for formatting ($249.99 once, Mac only) or Publisher Rocket for keywords ($199 once), and free options such as Kindle Create and KDP Cover Creator work only for KDP (US prices, as of November 2026).
Contents

What self-publishing software do you need? Six steps stand between a finished draft and a book in the store: writing, editing, the cover, formatting the print interior, the EPUB, and the store details such as blurb, keywords and categories. Bookfairy covers all six steps in one browser account and charges once per book. Most other programs handle one or two of them: Scrivener and Atticus for writing, Vellum and Atticus for formatting, Canva for covers, Publisher Rocket for keywords. Amazon's free Kindle Create and KDP Cover Creator work only for KDP. Below is every step with the common tools and their US prices, as of November 2026.

The six steps and what each needs

Step What you need at the end Typical tools
1. Writing A complete manuscript, usually as a Word file Scrivener, Atticus, Reedsy Studio, a word processor
2. Editing A corrected text, every change visible Freelance editor, ProWritingAid, editing tool
3. Cover Ebook front; for print one file with back, spine and front Canva, KDP Cover Creator, designer
4. Formatting Print PDF in your trim size, fonts embedded Vellum, Atticus, Kindle Create, Reedsy Studio
5. EPUB A reflowable ebook for KDP and other stores Vellum, Atticus, Reedsy Studio, Kindle Create
6. Store details Blurb, keywords, categories, A+ Content Publisher Rocket, your own research

The upload itself happens on the platform: KDP, IngramSpark, Apple Books or a distributor. Our guide How to publish a book walks through it.

Step by step: tools and prices

Prices from each maker's own site, checked November 8, 2026, in US dollars; tax status as stated there.

Step Tool Price What to know
Writing Scrivener 3 $59.99 once for macOS (Mac App Store, US) each platform needs its own licence; exports Word, PDF, EPUB
Writing and formatting Atticus $147 once Windows, Mac, Linux, Chromebook; exports EPUB, PDF, DOCX
Writing and formatting Reedsy Studio basic features free web app, no offline access; EPUB 3 and print-ready PDF
Editing ProWritingAid Premium $10 a month billed yearly ($120), $30 billed monthly, Lifetime $399 free plan: 2 runs a day per report, up to 500 words
Cover Canva Free plan $0; Pro $144 a year ($18 a month) for one person, excl. tax spine and back by hand in a custom-size design
Cover KDP Cover Creator free builds front, spine and back; stock-image covers cannot be downloaded for use outside KDP
Formatting and EPUB Vellum Press $249.99, Ebooks $199.99, once, excl. tax Mac only; 24 trim sizes, PDF/X-1a, EPUB 3 and EPUB 2
Formatting and EPUB Kindle Create free Windows and Mac; KPF for KDP, EPUB export for reflowable books; tables and footnotes not yet supported in print
Keywords and categories Publisher Rocket $199 once keyword and category search, unlimited use

Writing and editing

If you write the book yourself, Scrivener keeps drafts, notes and research in one project and compiles the manuscript into Word, PDF or EPUB. Atticus combines writing and formatting for $147 once, and Reedsy Studio does both for free in the browser. Which writing app fits whom is in our guide Best book writing software.

For editing, style checkers such as ProWritingAid go through your text sentence by sentence. A full edit by a freelancer costs more: Reedsy puts the average for an 80,000-word book at $2,160 for a copy edit, as covered in our guide How much does it cost to edit a book. The Bookfairy editing tool checks the whole manuscript for spelling, grammar, style, logic, facts and sources, marks every change and edits the first 3,000 words for free; up to 60,000 words cost $82.80690 tokens.

Cover, formatting and EPUB

  • Cover. Canva gives you layouts and an editor; for a paperback you build the wrap with spine and back yourself. KDP Cover Creator builds the whole wrap for free, but only for KDP. The Bookfairy cover tool builds front, spine and back as one print PDF, with the barcode and publisher logo on the back, for $12.00100 tokens, with three drafts free; later it translates the cover, same look in the other language ($4.8040 tokens), changes the trim size ($2.4020 tokens), makes an audiobook cover ($2.4020 tokens), swaps barcode or logo ($1.2010 tokens) or reworks it in your own words ($1.2010 tokens per change). Our guide Book cover maker compares the options.
  • Formatting. Vellum sets up margins, page numbers and headers for you and exports PDF/X-1a, on a Mac only. Atticus runs on every system. Kindle Create prepares ebook and paperback from the same manuscript for publishing on KDP and suits text-heavy books with simple layouts. Bookfairy formatting turns your Word file into a print PDF in the browser for $18.00150 tokens, and you see the first 10 pages free. Printers that ask for PDF/X-1a get it through the PDF/X-1a converter.
  • EPUB. Vellum, Atticus and Reedsy Studio export EPUB; Kindle Create saves KPF for KDP and can export an EPUB of reflowable books. The Bookfairy EPUB tool builds an EPUB 3 for $12.00100 tokens, or $26.40220 tokens together with the print PDF.

The full list of formatting programs is in our guide Book formatting software. Side by side with Bookfairy: Vellum vs. Bookfairy and Atticus vs. Bookfairy.

Store details: blurb, keywords and categories

Readers find books through the store search, so title, subtitle and the seven KDP keyword fields matter. Publisher Rocket searches keywords and categories for $199 once. In Bookfairy, keyword research gives you up to 100 keywords with search volume plus 10 title ideas for $7.2060 tokens, categories suggests Amazon categories with the current rank of the number 1 and 2 books for $4.2035 tokens, and the book description writes six versions of your blurb, from back cover to KDP HTML, for $4.8040 tokens.

One account instead of six programs: Bookfairy

With separate programs you move your book between tools at every step: the Word file to the formatter, the page count to the cover, the blurb to the back cover and into KDP. In Bookfairy it stays in one project in the browser:

  1. Write a non-fiction or self-help book from your idea with the book writer, or upload your own manuscript.
  2. Edit, design the cover, format the print PDF and build the EPUB in the same project.
  3. Add blurb, keywords, categories and A+ Content, then upload everything to KDP, IngramSpark or another store.

Each tool is paid once per book, with no subscription needed, and every tool shows you a free preview first. The complete bundle for a book up to 60,000 words, writing included, costs $178.801,490 tokens; all prices are on the pricing page.

Self-publishing software compared

Same job for everyone: one non-fiction paperback and ebook, from manuscript to the files and details KDP asks for.

Compared task: one non-fiction paperback and ebook, from the manuscript to upload-ready files and store details.

FeatureVellum (Press licence)Atticus
Steps in one account Writing (non-fiction), editing, cover, formatting, EPUB, blurb, keywords, categories, A+ Content Formatting: ebooks and print PDFs1 Writing and formatting, export as EPUB, PDF and DOCX2
Editing of the manuscript Spelling, grammar, style, logic, facts and sources, every change marked; first 3,000 words free Not stated on the product page1 Not stated on the product page2
Paperback cover Front, spine and back with barcode and logo as a print PDF, spine width from your page count; translate, resize or rework it later Not stated on the product page1 Not stated on the product page2
Blurb, keywords and categories Six blurb versions, up to 100 keywords with search volume, categories with current ranks Not stated on the product page1 Not stated on the product page2
Price for one book's interior $18.00150 tokens for the print PDF, $26.40220 tokens with EPUB; first 10 pages free $249.99 once for the licence, excl. tax; ebooks only $199.991 $147 once for the licence2

As of 8 November 2026. Prices of other providers as shown on their websites, US prices in USD.

Scrivener, Atticus, Reedsy, ProWritingAid, Canva, Kindle Direct Publishing, Kindle Create, Vellum and Publisher Rocket are trademarks of their respective owners. Bookfairy is not affiliated with them.

Sources (2)
  1. Vellum, product and pricing page, US prices in USD, excluding tax (checked 8 Nov 2026). vellum.pub/
  2. Atticus, product page (accessed 7 Nov 2026). atticus.io/
FAQ

Frequently asked

What software do I need to self-publish a book?

One tool each for writing, editing, the cover, formatting the print interior, the EPUB and your store details (blurb, keywords, categories). Some tools cover several steps: Atticus writes and formats, Vellum formats print and ebook. Bookfairy covers all six in one account and charges once per book.

Is there free self-publishing software?

Yes, with limits. Reedsy Studio's basic writing and formatting features are free, Amazon's Kindle Create is a free desktop app for Windows and Mac, and KDP Cover Creator is free inside KDP. Kindle Create exports KPF for KDP, and Cover Creator covers made with its stock images cannot be downloaded for use outside KDP (as of November 2026).

Is Bookfairy formatting cheaper than a one-time licence like Vellum?

For one book in the browser, Bookfairy formatting costs $18, and the first 10 pages are free to preview. If you format many books on a Mac, a one-time licence spreads its cost: Vellum Press costs $249.99 once excluding tax in the US, Vellum Ebooks $199.99. It runs only on a Mac.

Can I self-publish with only Microsoft Word?

You can write and even lay out a print PDF in a word processor, but you set up margins, running heads, page numbers and hyphenation yourself. The full cover with spine, back and barcode, the EPUB and the store details still need other tools, or Bookfairy, which builds them in one account.

What does self-publishing software cost for one book?

With Bookfairy you pay per step and per book, for example $26.40 for print PDF and EPUB together and $12 for a complete cover. Elsewhere it runs from nothing to a few hundred dollars, depending on how many steps you do by hand: one-time licences such as Vellum ($249.99) or Atticus ($147) pay off over several books; subscriptions such as Canva Pro ($144 a year) run on.

Sources (9)
  1. Apple Mac App Store, US storefront: Scrivener 3, $59.99 (checked Nov 8, 2026)
  2. Atticus: price, platforms and export (accessed Nov 7, 2026)
  3. Reedsy: Studio FAQ (accessed Nov 7, 2026)
  4. ProWritingAid: pricing, US view in USD (archived copy of Oct 5, 2026, checked Nov 8, 2026)
  5. Canva: plans and pricing, US view in USD (page as of Nov 1, 2026, checked Nov 8, 2026)
  6. Amazon KDP: Cover Creator (accessed Nov 7, 2026)
  7. Vellum: product page and prices, US view in USD (checked Nov 8, 2026)
  8. Amazon: Kindle Create (accessed Nov 7, 2026)
  9. Publisher Rocket: product page and price (accessed Nov 7, 2026)

Start with a free preview of your book.