Best Book Writing Software 2027: Seven Options with Prices
Book writing software compared: Scrivener, Atticus, Reedsy Studio, Sudowrite, Squibler, Novelcrafter and Bookfairy. Who writes, what it costs, what it exports.
Short answer
Book writing software falls into three groups: writing apps where you type yourself (Scrivener $59.99 once for macOS, Atticus $147 once, Reedsy Studio free), AI tools that help you draft (Sudowrite, Squibler, Novelcrafter, on monthly or yearly plans), and Bookfairy, which writes a whole non-fiction or self-help book from your idea from $58.80 per book (as of November 2026).
- Pick by who should write the text and what files you need at the end.
Contents
Which book writing software should you use? Start with one question: who writes the text? If you want a non-fiction or self-help book written from your idea, Bookfairy writes the whole manuscript and takes it on to the full cover, formatting and EPUB in the same account. If you write every word yourself, you need a writing app that keeps a long manuscript in order, such as Scrivener ($59.99 once for macOS) or Atticus ($147 once, with formatting built in), or the free Reedsy Studio. If you want AI to help you draft, Sudowrite, Squibler and Novelcrafter run on monthly or yearly plans. Below are all seven with US prices and sources, as of November 2026.
What book writing software has to do
A word processor can hold a book, but at 50,000 words it gets slow to move around in. Book writing software adds what long manuscripts need:
| Job | What it means |
|---|---|
| Structure | Chapters and scenes you can move around without copy and paste |
| Notes and research | Sources, outlines and character or topic notes next to the text |
| Consistency | Terms, names and promises that stay the same from chapter 1 to the end |
| Export | Word for your editor, EPUB for the ebook, PDF for print |
| What comes after | Cover, formatting, blurb, keywords and categories for the store |
The first three decide how well you write. The last two decide how much work is left when the text is done.
Seven options at a glance
Prices from each maker's own site, checked November 8, 2026, in US dollars.
| Software | Who writes | Price | Export |
|---|---|---|---|
| Scrivener 3 | You | $59.99 once for macOS (Mac App Store, US); each platform needs its own licence | Word, PDF, EPUB and Kindle ebooks |
| Atticus | You | $147 once | EPUB, PDF, DOCX |
| Reedsy Studio | You | basic features free, premium plans monthly or yearly | EPUB 3, print-ready PDF |
| Sudowrite | You, with AI drafting | $10, $22 or $44 a month billed yearly; $19, $29 or $59 billed monthly | not stated on the pricing page |
| Squibler | AI drafts, you steer | free plan with 500 AI credits a month; Plus $29.99 a month or $15.83 billed annually | PDF, DOCX |
| Novelcrafter | You, AI with your own key | $4 to $20 a month; 21-day trial, no free plan | not stated on the pricing page |
| Bookfairy | Bookfairy, from your idea | whole book from $58.80490 tokens, outline and chapter 1 free | Word file, then print PDF and EPUB in the same account |
Writing apps: Scrivener, Atticus and Reedsy Studio
- Scrivener is a writing app for long projects. It keeps your drafts, notes and research in one project, and you can open research right next to the chapter you are writing. When you are done, Scrivener compiles the manuscript into Word, PDF or ready-to-sell EPUB and Kindle ebooks. Scrivener 3 for macOS costs $59.99 once in the US Mac App Store, and each platform needs its own licence.
- Atticus combines writing and formatting. It costs $147 once for ebook and print, runs on Windows, Mac, Linux and Chromebook and works online and offline as a web app. You import or write your book, pick one of 17 templates or build your own theme, and export EPUB, PDF and DOCX.
- Reedsy Studio is a web app for planning, writing, editing and formatting. Its basic features, including writing and formatting, are free. It exports EPUB 3 and a print-ready PDF with CMYK images; there is no offline access.
All three expect you to write the book yourself. That is the point of them. Side by side with Bookfairy: Atticus vs. Bookfairy and alternatives to Reedsy.
AI writing tools: Sudowrite, Squibler and Novelcrafter
These three put AI into the writing process:
- Sudowrite calls its own models "AI models just for fiction". Its AI Book Writer builds 10 chapter outlines and 2 to 3 character arcs from your novel idea, and you expand each chapter in the editor. Plans cost $10, $22 or $44 a month billed yearly, or $19, $29 or $59 billed monthly, with a free trial.
- Squibler generates a full 200 to 300 page book from the Plus plan, which costs $29.99 a month or $15.83 a month billed annually. A free plan includes 500 AI credits a month, and you export to PDF and DOCX.
- Novelcrafter is a planning and writing environment with a codex, series and AI character extraction. Its AI features need your own API key with an AI provider ("bring your own key"). Plans run from $4 to $20 a month, with a 21-day trial and no free plan; after cancelling you keep read-only access and can export.
Our guide Best AI for writing a book compares the AI tools in more detail, and each has its own comparison page: Sudowrite, Squibler, Novelcrafter.
Non-fiction from your idea: Bookfairy
Bookfairy is made for non-fiction and self-help, not novels. You do not open an editor and start typing; you describe your idea in a few sentences, typed or spoken.
- Concept and outline. Bookfairy writes a concept with audience, promise and structure, and an outline with a summary per chapter. You change it until it is your book.
- Chapter 1 for free. You read the complete first chapter before you pay anything.
- The whole book. Every chapter is written in turn along the outline, up to 100,000 words, in English, German, French, Spanish or Italian. You get a Word file with chapters, table of contents, checklists, tables and a list of sources.
- Everything after the text. In the same project, editing checks spelling, grammar, style, logic and facts, the cover comes with front, spine and back as a print PDF, with the barcode and publisher logo on the back, and formatting and EPUB produce the files for KDP and other stores.
The cover workshop keeps working on that cover later: translate it, same look in the other language ($4.8040 tokens), change the trim size or page count with the spine recalculated ($2.4020 tokens), make an audiobook cover ($2.4020 tokens), swap barcode or logo ($1.2010 tokens) or change it in your own words ($1.2010 tokens per change).
The book writer costs $58.80490 tokens for up to 30,000 words, $82.80690 tokens up to 60,000 and $106.80890 tokens up to 100,000, once per book and with no subscription needed. All prices are on the pricing page.
Which software for which author?
| You want to … | Look at |
|---|---|
| Write a long manuscript yourself and keep research beside it | Scrivener |
| Write and format in one app, on any computer | Atticus |
| Write and format in the browser at no cost | Reedsy Studio |
| Draft fiction with AI help | Sudowrite, Novelcrafter |
| Have AI generate a full draft on a monthly plan | Squibler |
| Get a non-fiction or self-help book written from your idea, then the full cover, formatting and EPUB | Bookfairy |
Whatever you choose, read and revise the text yourself before you publish. KDP asks whether text is AI-generated when you publish; our guide Writing a book with AI quotes the rules.
Book writing software compared
Same job for everyone: one non-fiction book, from the first draft to files you can upload to KDP.
Compared task: one non-fiction or self-help book, from the draft to a print cover and the book's store details.
| Feature | Scrivener 3 (standard licence) | Atticus | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Who writes the text | Bookfairy writes concept, outline and every chapter from your idea | You write; the app keeps drafts, notes and research together2 | You write in the editor, then format3 |
| Editing of the manuscript | Spelling, grammar, style, logic, facts and sources, every change marked; first 3,000 words free | Not stated on the product page2 | Not stated on the product page3 |
| Paperback cover | Front, spine and back with barcode and logo as a print PDF, spine width from your page count; translate, resize or rework it later | Not stated on the product page2 | Not stated on the product page3 |
| Blurb, keywords and categories | In the same account, for KDP and other stores | Not stated on the product page2 | Not stated on the product page3 |
| Price for one book | The whole manuscript from $58.80490 tokens; outline and chapter 1 free | $59.99 once for macOS (Mac App Store, US); each platform needs its own licence1 | $147 once for writing and formatting3 |
As of 8 November 2026. Prices of other providers as shown on their websites, US prices in USD.
Scrivener, Atticus, Reedsy, Sudowrite, Squibler and Novelcrafter are trademarks of their respective owners. Bookfairy is not affiliated with them.
Sources (3)
- Apple Mac App Store, US storefront, Scrivener 3: $59.99 (checked 8 Nov 2026). apps.apple.com/us/app/scrivener-3/id1310686187
- Literature & Latte, Scrivener overview (accessed 7 Nov 2026). literatureandlatte.com/scrivener/overview
- Atticus, product page (accessed 7 Nov 2026). atticus.io/
Frequently asked
What is the best software for writing a book?
It depends on who writes. If you want a non-fiction or self-help book written from your idea, Bookfairy writes the concept, outline and every chapter, from $58.80 per book, and goes on to cover, formatting and EPUB in the same account. If you write every word yourself, Scrivener organises long manuscripts and research, and Atticus combines writing with formatting. For AI help with a novel, Sudowrite says its models are made just for fiction, and Novelcrafter keeps characters and series in a codex.
Is there free book writing software?
Yes. Reedsy Studio's basic features, including writing and formatting, are free; it runs as a web app without offline access. Squibler has a free plan with 500 AI credits a month. Scrivener offers a 30-day free trial, and Novelcrafter a 21-day trial without a free plan (as of November 2026). At Bookfairy the outline and chapter 1 of your book are free to read before you pay.
How does the price of Bookfairy compare with writing software you buy once?
Bookfairy charges per book with no subscription, from $58.80. Scrivener is a one-time purchase: Scrivener 3 for macOS costs $59.99 in the US Mac App Store (7 November 2026), and each platform needs its own licence. Atticus is $147 once.
Can AI write a whole book for me?
Some tools write chapter by chapter while you steer, others build an outline you expand yourself. Bookfairy writes a complete non-fiction or self-help manuscript of up to 100,000 words along an outline you approve first. You still read and revise it; our guide on writing a book with AI explains KDP's disclosure rules.
Does Bookfairy write novels?
No. The book writer is made for non-fiction and self-help. Editing, cover, formatting, EPUB and the marketing tools work for every genre, including novels you wrote yourself.
Sources (8)
- Apple Mac App Store, US storefront: Scrivener 3, $59.99 (checked Nov 8, 2026)
- Literature & Latte: Scrivener overview, export and platforms (accessed Nov 7, 2026)
- Atticus: price, platforms and export (accessed Nov 7, 2026)
- Reedsy: Studio FAQ, free features, export, offline access (accessed Nov 7, 2026)
- Sudowrite: pricing (accessed Nov 7, 2026)
- Sudowrite: AI Book Writer (accessed Nov 7, 2026)
- Squibler: pricing (accessed Nov 7, 2026)
- Novelcrafter: pricing and FAQ (accessed Nov 7, 2026)